Login Register

Region's best golfers gather for event at Woodbury

By Western Morning News  |  Posted: September 26, 2012

Comments (0)

Some of the peninsula's top golfers are back at Woodbury today for the fifth and final round of the popular PGA West Region Titleist/Footjoy League.

The competition tees off at 8am with first starters Daniel Keitch (Taunton Vale GC) and Carole Pope (Isle of Wedmore).

Next off the tee – at 8.08am – are James Keitch (Taunton Vale) and Steven Buzza (Exeter Golf and Country Club).

Buzza is then followed by a host of Devon players including the likes of Kevin Harper (Exeter Golf and Country Club) Ross Daniel (Royal North Devon) Ben Martin (Teign Valley) James Pickard (Honiton) Jonathan Parsons (Churston) and newly crowned 2012 Women's PGA Order of Merit winner Laura Hendriksen.

Cornish interest includes St Mellion's Jack Stevenson, while other Devon entries include Devon Greenslade (Downes Crediton), Dan Balsdon (Bovey Castle Hotel) and East Devon's Matthew Lockey.

Balsdon and Lockey are the last pair off at 11.30am.

Essex are England Golf's women's county champions for the first time in 33 years.

They won the title by the narrowest of margins on countback at the end of a tense but exciting finale to women's County Finals at East Devon Golf Club.

Essex triumphed despite a final-round 5½-3½ loss to runners-up Lancashire, who finished just half a game point behind the champions following the week-long competition at Budleigh Salterton.

South West champions Gloucestershire, who had started the week so well, were pipped to fourth spot by Surrey, who beat them 6-3 on the final day while Lincolnshire – the 2011 champions – beat Buckinghamshire 9-0.


1 Essex (East region) 3½ points, 26½ games

2 Lancashire (North) 3½ points, 26 games

3 Lincolnshire (Midlands North) 3 points

4 Surrey (South) 2½ points, 25 games

5 Gloucestershire (South West) 2½ points, 23½ games

6 Buckinghamshire (Midlands South) 0 points

Torquay Golf Club stages the 2012 Devon County Ladies Golf Association matchplay finals tomorrow.

Ilfracombe meet Saunton in the Creasy starting at 10am, Fingle Glen play Dainton Park for the President's trophy (11am) and Saunton meet Teignmouth in the Still Cup (12.30pm).

Lancashire and Wiltshire, the last two champions, will renew their rivalry after winning their way through to the English men's County Finals, which tee off at Beau Desert in Staffordshire on Friday.

South West champions Wiltshire are the defending national champions after their victory at Ganton last year. The other finalists are Suffolk and Worcestershire.

Read more from Western Morning News

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters