Login Register

Pietersen and Anderson rested for limited-overs leg of Ashes tour

By Western Morning News  |  Posted: December 10, 2013

By David Clough

Jos Buttler in Twenty 20 action for England. Picture: Ross Setford/AP

Jos Buttler in Twenty 20 action for England. Picture: Ross Setford/AP

Comments (0)

Kevin Pietersen is one of three senior players set to miss the limited-overs leg of England's Ashes tour in the new year.

Pietersen, James Anderson and Graeme Swann will take no part in the five one-day internationals, or three Twenty20s, scheduled for January and February.

Pietersen seems sure to figure in future limited-overs engagements such as next year's ICC World Twenty20 and the 2015 World Cup, along with Anderson at the latter.

All were all absent, though, from the 15- and 16-man squads announced on Tuesday. Test captain Alastair Cook will lead the one-day squad, with Stuart Broad again in charge of the Twenty20 tourists.

England's Test coach Andy Flower explained the reasons for easing the workload on Pietersen, 33, and Anderson, who is two years younger.

Swann's omission is, conceivably, more a selection issue – with James Tredwell once again involved, after more often than not in the past year being a successful like-for-like replacement for the senior off-spinner.

Flower said: "This is going to be another month of tough cricket, and then a heavy schedule from the West Indies tour onwards.

"Straight after the Twenty20 World Cup, the Indian Premier League begins – and while that's on, the English season starts. Our players who play all three forms cannot play 12 months a year. Guys like Anderson and Pietersen are in their early thirties now; they are prized assets, and we need to look after them."

England's increasingly established limited-overs wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler will be among those relishing his chance to impress again. The former Somerset player said: "Any time you get picked for an England squad, it's a very proud moment and an exciting one – so I'm really looking forward to the one-day series and the Twenty20s afterwards."

England one-day international squad: Cook (captain), Ballance, Bell, Bopara, Bresnan, Briggs, Broad, Buttler, Carberry, Finn, Jordan, Morgan, Rankin, Root, Stokes, Tredwell.

England Twenty20 squad: Broad (captain), Bopara, Bresnan, Briggs, Buttler, Dernbach, Finn, Hales, Lumb, Morgan, Rankin, Root, Stokes, Tredwell, Wright.

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters