Login Register

Endurance South West has some new faces in among its annual award winners

By Western Morning News  |  Posted: November 30, 2012

Comments (0)

There were some new faces among the prizewinners at the Annual Meeting and Dinner of Endurance South West this year, writes Jane Holden.

The Novice Level Shield was won by Tina Handley and her ten-year-old coloured mare, Grania. Runner-up was 13-year-old Ryan Brock from on his Arab mare, Kairie. Tina also won the Peter Hawkey Forage Trophy awarded to a rider in their first season of EGB South West membership. Runner-up was 11-year-old George Barnes.

Ryan Brock won the Blue Zephyr Memorial Trophy awarded to the novice junior member with the most points at all EGB rides. George Barnes came second.

The winners of the Advanced Level Challenge Shield this year were Joy Savage and her Appaloosa mare, Rowberton Raindance. In second place were Carolyn Thomas and Meneth Crystal Rose.

The Open Level Shield and the Kernow Award were both won by Victoria Ham riding her TB ex-racehorse, Thea's Lass. In second place each time were Valerie Hansen and Seadeke Mystif. Victoria Ham and Thea's Lass also won the Spirit of Westwood Award for the highest number of kilometres ridden in South West rides. The runners-up for this were Joy Savage and Rowberton Raindance. For the Laila's Award for Top Mare, based on points, the results were reversed.

The Devonian Award went to Megan Cross and Latek, with Jan Prettijohn and Astral Mystique second. The Darkness Shield for the best arab or anglo arab doing only South West rides went to Valerie Hansen and Seadyke Mystif. In second place were Catherine Woodford and Pigaro. The Novice Trophy for a novice horse in its first season of endurance was won by Fair Deed Dash, ridden by Gail Thomas. In second place were Kairie and Ryan Brock.

A new trophy this year was the Leo Award, given by Janet Lander for the best results with a homebred horse. The winner was Sue Speed with Destiny's Child. Shannon Smith and Bomber were second.

For the second year running, the Junior Rider Trophy was won by Saffron Bishop. Runner up was Ryan Brock. Saffron and her pony CFS Diana of Court, also won the Prince Merlin Trophy for the best part bred Arab. Runner-up was Carolyn Thomas' Meneth Crystal Rose.

The Young Rider Achievement Award for the highest mileage in all types of rides anywhere in the UK, went to Abbie Chisholm, on Grey Medlar. Second was Megan Cross. Grey Medlar was also, for the second year running, both the South West Arab Champion and the Overall Champion, winning the Yakamin Cup. For both awards the runner up was Nicky Sherry's Silver Zourra. Medlar also won the Jigsaw Puzzle Trophy for the best veteran horse or pony. The runner-up for this was Ryan Brock's 22-year-old Kairie.

The top male ride in the South West and winner of the Cheffey Trophy again went to Tristan Bishop. Like Sue Speed, who won the Moluq Trophy for the Best Veteran Rider yet again – Tristan doesn't seem to have much competition. Endurance is a man's sport in the rest of Europe. Why not here? Caroline Lloyd was the runner-up for the Moluq Trophy.

The Hairy Harry or Harriet Award for non-registered horses or ponies went to Mistletoe and Anne Marvin, with Friday's Girl and George Barnes second. The Heather Trophy for the best native pony went to Killyanchor Magic Jewel ridden by Jessie Lethbridge, second was Pauline Bird's Hurstock Special Flame.

The Glory Trophy is for the South West horse gaining the most points in its first season of ERs. This year it went to Keryel Lotois, ridden by Jo Chisholm, with Sahir Kashmir ridden by Trena Brock in second place. The Shiera Shoe for the mare gaining the most points at any ER, went to Nicky Sherry's Silver Zourra. Annie Joppe had the most FEI points, with Nicky second.

The Associate Member who had the highest mileage in South West Pleasure Rides was Anderjin Peters and the Young Volunteer of the Year was Will Lethbridge. The Achievement Award went to Jane Hill for her contribution to the Blue Chip St Meubred's Ride and the best Crew of the Year was Spencer Ham.

Read more from Western Morning News

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters