Login Register

Chiefs ace Mumm to represent Barbarians

By Western Morning News  |  Posted: May 16, 2013

Dean Mumm on the charge against Wasps

Comments (0)

Exeter Chiefs lock Dean Mumm has been named in the Barbarians squad for their two-match summer tour.

The Australia international is one of a number of household names to have been selected in the world famous representative side, who will face England at Twickenham on May 26 before then departing for Hong Kong, where they will face the British and Irish Lions on June 1.

Mumm, who joined the Chiefs last summer from New South Wales Waratahs, has previously won 33 caps for the Wallabies and has been a key performer for the Devon club in his first season in English rugby.

The 29-year-old forward has been named in a squad of 28 players drawn from a dozen nationalities.

Tour manager Derek Quinnell said: "We are very pleased with the final composition and strength of the squad.

"Obviously, because of play-off finals in Ireland and England on 25 May, a handful of players will not be available for the first match against England, but we have covered that by inviting 28 players.

"We also believe there is a healthy balance between proven Test experience and promising young talent who will benefit enormously from the experience."

Italy captain Sergio Parisse, Harlequins fly-half Nick Evans and Samoan scrum-half Kahn Fotuali'i were among the first global stars to sign up for the Barbarians.

Wasps' Elliot Daly is one of three uncapped players named in the squad along with Wasps team-mate Sam Jones and Ulster's Jared Payne.

The Barbarians, who will be coached by Dai Young of Wasps and Mike Tindall of Gloucester, assemble in London on May 22 before they fly overnight to Hong Kong immediately after the England match. The tour reaches a climax with the fixture against the Lions on Saturday, June 1.

Barbarians squad to face England and British & Irish Lions: Backs: Jared Payne (Ulster), Rowan Varty (DeA Tigers & Hong Kong), Takudzwa Ngwenya (Bairritz Olympique & USA), Timoci Nagusa (Montpellier & Fiji), Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand), Elliot Daly (London Wasps), James Hook (Perpignan & Wales), Nick Evans (Harlequins & New Zealand), Kahn Fotuali'i (Ospreys & Samoa), Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks & Wales), Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz Olympique & France).

Forwards: Duncan Jones (Ospreys & Wales), B J Botha (Munster & South Africa), Paul James (Bath Rugby & Wales), Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester & Italy), Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Metro 92 & Italy), Matthew Rees (Scarlets & Wales), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso & Italy), Schalk Brits (Saracens & South Africa), Marco Wentzel (London Wasps & South Africa), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester Rugby & Scotland), Dean Mumm (Exeter Chiefs & Australia), Samu Manoa (Northampton & USA), Francois Louw (Bath Rugby & South Africa), Sam Jones (London Wasps), Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso & Italy), Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais & Italy), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz Olympique & France).

Read more from Western Morning News

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters